Miss me?

April 15, 2010

Hey strangers!  Annnd, ready, get set, (deep breathe)… I have TWO exams left and i could not be more excited for Summer, even though i am not technically going to have a lot more free time, i will be taking half the amount of classes that i am currently taking and i will be doing what i love to do much more often, which is train, write, and run of course!  Oh and obviously pack my body with the best nutrients around coming from local, fresh organic produce and expensive trips to my 2nd home.  I simply cannot wait to come home from a long run in the beautiful 75 degree sunny weather drenched in sweat, hop in an ice cold shower, throw on some digs and window shop the local farms with all of their gi-normous selections of mint green honeydews, baseball sized prince plums, fresh emerald green collards for collard wraps,  and do nothing but chill outside by the grill all night :)  Oh and i forgot to mention my all-time favorite aspect of summer, STORMS!  Ridiculously violent, strong, thunder-storms… lightening and all.  I love them, always have, always will.  Watching a storm roll over the Rocky Mountains is one of my most memorable childhood pastimes.  I find everything about them so magical and fascinating, and yes i have survived several large tornado cells.  Funny story:  My family was at a Ferrari convention near Chatfield lake in Colorado and they announced a Tornado Warning.  Not five seconds later, we all looked up at the sky and a giant waterspout had touched down in the lake right next to us and literally EVERY single guy there ran for their cars and pretty much forgot about their wives and families; this includes my father.  Don’t worry though, he eventually came back AFTER the tornado had passed and his beloved was safely in an underground hotel parking garage across the street.  There are many things both my mother and sister have forgiven him for, but that may be the funniest…  I was only four or five, so i would have been perfectly complacent sitting down and watching it a quarter-mile away in the midst of a hail-storm.  I guess i was an unusual kid.  Fearless or naive, you be the judge! :)

Anyway, i will officially be back with around 3-5 posts a week starting monday, but i thought i would let you guys know what my meals have looked like in the past couple of days for two reasons.  One being that i am rather proud of myself thinking ahead and preparing before my mess of four exams in the matter of 36 hours, and the other being that i have never really given you guys a look into exactly how i fuel myself for a day!

Day 1 (Tuesday)
6:00 a.m. (Clapping monkey Alarm goes off)
6:30 a.m. Actual wake-up time, (i like to give myself 1/2 of an hour of extra sleep knowing that i have to wake up in 30 minutes.  Weird, huh?)
6:30-7 a.m. A few quick exercises, stretching, and some hygienic cleansing.
7:00 a.m. Breakfast (Meal #1)

  • 2 handfuls of organic spinach
  • 1 scoop amazing grass chocolate (not meal replacement)
  • 2 tbs. chia seeds
  • 1 tbs. flax seeds
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 large organic carrot
  • 3 tbs. lima beans
  • 3 figs
  • 1 cup of frozen mixed berries
  • 2 handfuls of ice

(Blended for approx. 10-20 seconds, which yields a very thick mixture)

7:30 a.m. Out the door and on my way to my first exam.
8:30 a.m. Arrive at first exam and realize that it was extremely stupid to drink two liters of fluid on the way to a three hour exam.
8:31 a.m. EXTREMELY stupid.
8:39 a.m. I don’t remember this T.A. having a beard… Am i in the right room?
8:50 a.m. I can’t believe i studied so hard for this exam, what a breeze!
8:59 a.m. (Meal # 2)

  • My words at 8:50.

9:45 a.m. Finished my exam.  Now wheres the restroom in this building?  (Following the line of people…) Found it!
10:00 a.m. That took WAY too long… I’m getting kind of hungry again… Meet Bri at the library or eat?  Hmm… Why not both?
10-11:30 a.m. Studying was definitely the more productive choice, but how much did i actually get done? 41 pages?  Not bad.  How much of that will i remember?
11:30 a.m. Lunch (Meal #3)

  • Pre-prepped wrap on Ezekiel Tortilla with spinach, arugula, baby tomatoes,  oregano, tofu, and a hemp protein/flax seed oil spread.
  • 2 Small Granny Smith Apples
  • 1.5 Liter Smart Water
  • 8 Almond Butter Infused Prunes For Dessert (Homemade from “pitted” prunes)

12:30 p.m. Exam Numero Dos
3:29 p.m. Oh.  My.  Gosh.  I am not going to finish.  (I bubble my answers in last and was on 120/190)
3:30 p.m. They don’t call me the bubble master for nothing.  Okay, no one calls me that, but i sure felt like one!
3:30-5 p.m. 8-10 mile run.  Quick, ice cold shower.
5:30 p.m. Exam #3
8:00 p.m. Dinner time!  (Meal #4, technically 3, my words weren’t that filling)

  • 4-5 oz piece of tempeh sauteed in ginger-flax sauce
  • 5 cups of organic, lightly steamed broccoli
  • 1 cup of red quinoa (lightly steamed as well)
  • 2 large, organic Russet Apples spread with mounds of cashew butter, flax seeds, and hemp protein

9:30-10 p.m. Approx. 200 abdominal squats from floor, 200 push-ups, and 100 jumping squats while listening to my new favorite album (muse).
10:30 p.m. (Snack/Meal # 4)

  • 2 scoops of vanilla unsweetened pea protein
  • 2 cups of unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1 cup of lima beans
    (blend until smooth, don’t hold me accountable if your taste buds aren’t as unique as mine) ;)

That is my meal plan for a day with three exams, very unlike my usual day which i will post later in the week, but thought it would be interesting!  Deane, out!

15 Responses to “Miss me?”

  1. That is so scary about the tornado! It is awesome that your dad has a Ferrari though!! What kind??

    • leangreendeane said

      Haha. He did when i was younger. He has always been into collecting some weird cars… He has had Dinos, and a couple 348 Challenge Cars that he raced for a little while.

  2. elise said

    ok, heres a little tip. DONT bubble in after!! its the easiest way to make mistakes. also it gives you a chance to change your mind on answers. never change your answers. i am a professional multiple choice test taker so i say this with some mayj authority. anyways, im glad youre back, and impressed that you had the energy to bust out such serious mileage between your exams! dayam boy – you crazy!

    • leangreendeane said

      Really? Might this be why i was expecting much higher grades on a few past exams? I will definitely put your theory to the test today!

  3. p.s. please pass onto me your love of storms because they FREAK ME OUT!

  4. hold up…lima beans in smoothies?!?!?! tell me MORE!

    yay for exams being done! i think your idea of a glorious summer sounds amazing – there is nothing like getting in an early morning workout, heading to the farmers market and then whipping up delicious food. gah, why can’t we do that everyday?

    happy monday :)

    • leangreendeane said

      YES! LB’s make smoothies so thick and green, i love them and they add a certain milky texture depending on how long you blend them for (not very long) especially if you are one of those lucky few with a vita-mix :)

  5. Katie said

    Ahhhhhhh good luck! I just don’t miss studying one single bit (sorry to rub it in :-))

    And can we talk about thunderstorms for a second?! There aren’t many things in this world that I enjoy more than the sound of thunder echoing off the rocky mountains. That low long rumble is a sound I crave in the summertime. I can’t even WAIT for summer. You just got me so excited about rain. Oh, and were you really taking an exam at 3:30am…or did you mean PM? Just curious ;-)

    • leangreendeane said

      Thanks so much! There is no sound like it… I try to explain how storms are THAT much different in Colorado, but they don’t understand… and they won’t until they go experience a decent one for themselves… And i fixed the time, thanks, haha. If it were that early, i wouldn’t have been able to function the rest of the day, at all.

  6. kbwood said

    that is super interesting! UGH i had SO MUCH WORK THIS WEEK!! I had a hard time keeping up with healthy meals (aka instant mac and cheese) haha! But hopefully I will do better in FINAL exams which are in 2 weeks! are you already on summer break? if so, I AM SO JELOUS!

  7. You are such a productive person and good luck on your last couple exams. Whew. Thank god those will be done soon!

    Thanks for your lovely vote of confidence type comments re my training, my studying for my ACE, and the nice things you always have to say to me..seriously, too kind :)

    train, write, and run. sounds like a perfect summer to me!

    • leangreendeane said

      The progress you have made in the past week are NUTS!! My computer won’t let me leave you a comment for some reason? So this will have to do for now…

  8. Wow, you sure are productive in your day! I love that you threw in an 8-10mile run randomly in between exams…amaze!!
    I also love your breakfast smoothie things! You’re so darn imaginative!!
    I have a question – you commented on my blog about flax pudding and other stuff instead of yogurts – what’s all that about?! I’ve never heard of it before!!
    Good luck in your last two exams :)

    • leangreendeane said

      Let flax or any other type of seed soak in a non-dairy milk for awhile and you will see what i am talking about! :)

Comments are closed.

