Everybody Can Tell You How To Do It. They Never Did it.

March 31, 2010

A little inspiration, once again, from my old friend Sean Carter.  This pretty much sums up the past week so well i don’t need to go into any detail about it because: IT. IS. OVER.  Which i am simply ecstatic about as you can tell!  Exams, decisions, ridiculous people, criticism left and right… And you know what the best part about the whole week was?  My Ipod carrying me through the whole time.  Without music i would simply be lost in life, that and food.  In fact if i were lost in the forest (because i can’t stand tropical weather on a deserted island), the only items i would hope to have with me would be a sharp knife (for slicing up the raw veggies i would collect), a brand new 80GB Ipod PACKED to the absolute fullest of all different types of music that would act as my personal soundtrack for the duration of my stay, and my Timex (which i have not taken off in two years).  And if you are wondering about the last one, yes it showers with me!  What would hope to have?  And would you rather be lost in a forest or stranded on a deserted island?  I bet you guys could think of some odd items!  C’mon i want to hear them, i have had a serious week so i would love a little fun in the comment section!

As you can probably guess, my eats have been pretty uninspired over the past week, but this has left me feeling a little different as to how i want to approach my blog from now on.  I intend on posting roughly five times a week (that will be my new goal) and i am going to theme-out my weeks for a while based on how i am feeling!  For example, this week i was thinking of re-creating some of the recipes that I loved as a kid.  Not only will they now be vegan, but they will have a much better nutrient profile their older counterpoints!  I love that i feel so inspired while reading everyone’s recipes around the few blogs that i read.  Whether it was Mama Pea’s Yukon White Bean Basil Burgers , a Hungry Hippie’s Roasted Japanese Pumpkin Sandwich , a Colorado Native’s Pepita Cabbage Kabocha Lunch, or Katie’s Honeydew Ice Cream.  Something must have clicked in my brain after reading all of these.  I give you my first re-creation of the week based on a sandwich that i had a close relationship with in elementary school:

Blue Butter Flax Cakes (No Bakes)
[Yields about 12 1-2 Inch Cakes]

1/2 Cup        Almond Butter
1/2 Cup        Oatbran
1/4 Cup        Chopped Dates
1/2 Block     Mori-Nu Tofu (Any Texture Should Work)
1/4 Cup        Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Milk

(Mix these ingredients in a magic bullet or blender until fairly smooth)

Add ingredients into a bowl along with:

1/2 Cup      Oats
1/2 Cup      Blueberries
1/2 Cup      Kashi Puffed Seven Grain
2 Tbs.          Pumpkin Seeds
2 Tbs.          Flax Seeds
2 Tbs.          Chia Seeds
2 Tbs.          Sunflower Seeds
2 Tbs.          Crushed Almonds

Form into balls or cakes, whichever you prefer.  I prefer balls.  (Cue Steve Carell).  Pop those in the fridge for a few hours and you will NOT be disappointed with the result!  I promise.  Optional to add:  A couple tablespoons of honey or other natural sweetener.  (I don’t really like my deserts too sweet, so these are perfect and remind me of the blueberry jam, almond and peanut butter sandwiches the mother used to pack for me).

Check em’ out>



And i had to picture a Golden Delicious apple that i grabbed this morning as part of breakfast because it was begging to be photographed!

Deane, Out!

11 Responses to “Everybody Can Tell You How To Do It. They Never Did it.”

  1. Katie said

    Congrats on finishing!! What a great feeling. Also, I REALLY need to go buy all the ingredients for those balls, they look absolutely fantastic. Except I might need to leave out the blueberries (so sad) because when I eat grains + fruit, my stomach turns into a painful mess and I look like I swallowed a basketball, it’s no fun. (TMI? sorry)

    Also, I choose deserted island x infinity. In fact, I kind of WISH I was stranded on a deserted island. As long as I had infinite supply of food and The Zac Brown Band to keep me company.

  2. elise said

    oh and as for music i would have to have way too many….i go through such phases it would be IMPOSSIBLE to choose even a few!! definitely the shins, though. no matter what.

  3. elise said

    i hope you try to replicate the sando and then pass on the recipe to me….congrats on making it out alive…must feel like SUCH a relief.

  4. kbwood said

    WOW amazing recipe!! i like it because it doesnt have too many CRAZY ingredients that ive never heard of before–hhaha some foodies have recipes that I have never heard of the ingredients (like super healthy stuff or whatever) goodness im gona have to take a little break from blogging soon-school is kicking my bootayyy for REAL! where do you go again?

    • Adam said

      Yeah, i like to keep my recipes fairly simple. But this may be because i live in an area where i can’t find 80% of the ingredients that other bloggers use! haha. I go to school in Ontario, for now.

  5. I like the sound of the blog improvements :D and I LOVE the sound of those ball things! I need to make me some of them :) Have you tried freezing them/do you think they would freeze?

    • Adam said

      Hm. Freezing may pose a bit of a problem. To tell you the truth i have never actually tried it, mostly because i never have a problem with leftovers; they are always gone within a few days! But if you try it, let me know!

  6. OMG those look sooo good! Thanks for your lovely comment you just left me. I was going to cite you in the Westbrae find but then it slipped my mind and so thank you for noticing i found it! Can’t wait to give it a whirl and seriously if you cant find it, and are gettin desperate, just LMK and i can drop a couple in the mail.

    this recipe of yours reminds me a cross between two of mine…
    raw Alm Butter cookies
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2009/11/raw-vegan-almond-butter-cookies.html

    And Maple Flax Cookies.
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/02/grocery-finds-no-bake-vegan-flaxseed.html
    but OMG I lovvvvve blueberries in anything, great work!

    • leangreendeane said

      I have never seen those recipes before! Thanks so much for linking them. And you are so kind to offer, but i’m hoping it won’t reach that point :)

  7. Those look delicious!

    Don’t stress over posting. Blogging should be fun! Do what works for you.

Comments are closed.

