Run This Town.

March 8, 2010

(Yawn…) This post is actually being brought to you from my a.m. lab that our T.A. apparently forgot to show for!  Well, i will not waste any time and try and be as productive as possible, posting this now so i will have room to study for multiple mid-terms later in the week tonight!  As promised, here are my five essential pairs of shoes that i literally live in:


Clockwise from top left:  My Keen Sandals that i pull out in March every year!  I love them and have purchased the same pair multiple times since Freshmen year… My Nike “Trail Runners”, which are really just for fun and wearing around doing any yard work, errands, and sometimes even a late class if i am feeling the look :)  My Clarks “Class shoes” of course, not only do they allow me to appear that i may have a hint of class, but i wear them to class daily!    And last but certainly not least, two pairs of my Asics Gel Nimbus 10s. These are by far my favorite of all running shoes, and i find for a toe striker like me; they offer amazing forefoot support, minimal amounts of cushion (which is just what i need, and no more) and wonderful pliability.  Even though i have been running with these for over 4 years, i recently made an interesting purchase that should be arriving in April that may forever affect my running shoe choice… Anyone ever heard of Vibram Fivefingers?  If so, let me know what you have heard, or definitely get in touch with me if you have a pair and love them or hate them!


Next up is my favorite running jacket, which for some reason uploaded sideways and i could not edit the pic?  But either way, this is the perfect second layer in the Spring/Summer Rain, and the perfect fourth layer in the Late Fall/Winter :)


Three essentials i could not live without, my compression socks (which i wear after 12 milers or beyond), my under armor skull cap (because i am one of those rare people who has a serious problem with keeping earphones in my ears while running), and Burton base-layer gloves ( i love the fact that these have a ton of grip so i don’t have to take them off while messing with my shoes, ipod, etc.)!

Now on to what i fuel my 10-12 milers with, something similar to Galaxy Granola (granola cooked without oils):





You got it.  Made some of my own granola this morning combining lots of the following:  Fresh blueberries, raisins, dried bosc pears, tamari-roasted pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, millet, oats, spelt flakes, all dressed in a pureed mix of a juicy white-nectarine, a small russet apple, and 2 Tbs. of chia seeds with a little almond milk to help get things flowing in the Mag Bullet.  Popped ’em in the oven at 330 degrees for 20 minutes and left the house… (I know very dangerous, but a definite time-saver when you have an oven that shuts itself off, hopefully) :)  Have a great monday everyone, only four more days until the weekend!  Does anyone have any awesome running related products i could/should be wasting money on, or new songs for that matter?  Deane, Out!

7 Responses to “Run This Town.”

  1. those purple shoes officially make you my hero

  2. elise said

    i love that you have “class” shoes with multiple meanings for the word class…you are too funny.

    your oven shuts itself off??? dude. i have such a ghetto kitchen. must move nowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

  3. Katie said

    ooh I wish I only had 5 pairs of essential shoes. I have about 10 and they crowd my closet and make me mad. Hah. That granola looks phenomenal, too. I need a magic bullet. Not want, NEED.

  4. the granola looks amazing, great work, Deane! Love your creativity and passion for making great eats!

  5. i have a few pairs of clarks too! i used to think they were just old lady shoes, but in recent years i think they’ve improved their style a lot and they are so damn comfy!

  6. Argh, it drives me mad when lecturers/teachers don’t show up! I had one that was a 1/2 hour late the other day…was not impressed – he said it was cos his kitchen was being re-done!??
    I need some new running songs too – if you get any good suggestions, send them my way! :)

Comments are closed.

