Earth Shake Tutorial

February 22, 2010

Welcome to my office:


Well, not really, in fact my office for the past few days has been the library at my University…  But this is where i do my best work.  It all starts early in the morning on weekdays.  One by one i take out my 19 COMPLETELY NECESSARY ingredients in order to produce nothing short of a masterpiece!


Mass amounts of Green are a must… Organic Little Bear Kale, Handfuls of Spinach and even a 1/4 cup of wheat bran for an extra kick of fiber.  Check out the vibrant Blood Tangerine in their, sometimes i will even add the peel but i wasn’t feeling it today!



Unfortunately, as i learned the hard way in third grade art; all of those BEAUTIFUL colors you mix together aren’t as pretty as a whole… Do i let this affect my ravenous morning appetite?  Not one bit.  Why you might ask?  Simply because i refuse to refer to my shake’s color as anything but earthy.  I don’t judge based on outer appearance.  Good thing too, because the flavors in this were AH-MAZE-ING.  Ingreds Included:
-1 Small Blood Tangerine
-1 Bunch of Kale
-1 Handful of Spinach
-2 Tablespoons Chia Seeds
-2 Tablespoons Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Milk
-1/4 Cup Unsweetened Soy Milk or Rice Milk
-1/2 Cup Water
-1/4 Cup Wheat Bran
-1/4 Cup Frozen Blueberry/Blackberry/Strawberry Mix
-1/2 Tablespoon Almond Butter
-1 Scoop Chocolate Amazing Grass Superfood
-2 Dried Figs
-1 Small Handful of Mulberries or Raisins to Garnish
-1/4 Cup Organic Baby Carrots
-2 Small Pieces of Ginger
-1 Clove of Garlic
-Shake of Cinnamon
-Shake of Nutmeg
-Shake of Ground Peppercorns

Now i know what you all are thinking, isn’t this a bit excessive?  Doesn’t this take you ALL morning to make?  To tell you the truth, it yields about 1 and 1/2 Liters and i down half before i leave in the morning, and take half with me to school.  I figure i am getting half of my water in for the day and i have the routine down to a science that takes me about 12 minutes to make!  I have done it in 10…  I am good, i know.  ;)  And as for if all the ingreds are excessive?  Obviously!  Wouldn’t have it any other way :)  It is my version of a multi-vitamin…

Check out what else i woke up to this morning:


Snowflakes the size/weight of… something big and heavy!  I couldn’t think of anything to compare them to… Maybe a kiwi or a plum… Whatever, they were HUGE!  I love snow.


And what better than to come home to tonight than my favorite comfort food prepped last night, plain Kabocha.  Sometimes food doesn’t need ANYTHING added to taste great!  And i hate to leave you guys in the dark about my recent adventure, but know that it involves a possible position this Summer and i will definitely update you as the info becomes available to me!  I can’t wait :)  Expect my entry to this sweet contest soon, Katie!  Almost forgot, did anyone catch the USA vs. Canada hockey game last night?  I don’t really care too much for hockey, so i didn’t catch much of the game… Did catch the final score though, and i must say i was pleased.  Pretty embarrassing Canada!  Step it up…  Congrats to my home country!  How were all of your weekends?  Deane, Out!

16 Responses to “Earth Shake Tutorial”

  1. Wow…that’s a serious monster shake!

    I am really impressed that your blender was up to the task! Rock on! See, cuisinarts ARE really good machines and I always tell people that who say they cant afford a vita. I always say cuisinart baby!

    Anyway, all that snow. OMG I grew up in MN then IL and seriously, I hate winter.
    Stay warm!

  2. Katie said

    Holy cow – will you make breakfast for me?? This is such and awesome smoothie. Can you taste the garlic in it??

    Also – loved the 3rd grade lesson learned. All colors make brown. :-) Doesn’t mean that brown isn’t tasty, though.

    • leangreendeane said

      No “garlicky?” taste what so ever! I have many more, usually i like to try and create bright colored ones instead of just brown…but this tastes just as good! Your breakfasts are in a completely different league, so mine would be quite embarrassing in comparison… I will always remember that picture of the sweet potato with nut butter… That is amazing!

  3. ooo mama pea has a crush!

    but I am inclined to agree. I love me a fellow healthy smoothie lover

    • leangreendeane said

      Ah you guys are making me blush… haha. If you like my smoothies you should see my signature oatmeal mash-up… It will be posted soon, i am trying to figure out how to picture it before i eat it, but i keep forgetting it is so good! :)

  4. wow. that is one intense shake.
    my favorite combo is a bit more simple haha

    strawberries, banana, carrots, cucumber, spinach, dates, flax seed. yum :)

  5. Wow, that is quite the smoothie ;) ;) I’m jealous!!!

    I’ve never had kombocha squash so I guess I need to try :)

    • leangreendeane said

      WHAT?!?!? You are missing out, there are never any leftovers in this house when it comes to Kabocha… As a fellow Bio student, i am disappointed… Get on that! :)

  6. Mama Pea said

    If I weren’t married…and old…you’d be my dream man for sure. Funny? check. Handsome? check. Eats a blender full of my produce drawer for breakfast and roasted squash for dinner? Check and check.

    Rock that midterm, fella!!!

    • leangreendeane said

      Oh it most certainly got rocked! Even if i chose to bake some carob lime cookies last night thanks to you! :) Pics will be up soon! And thanks for cheering me up this morning! Appreciate it :)

  7. i need a blender!!! i LOVE squash :)

  8. I think most foods don’t need much of anything added to them to taste great.
    That is a killer juice!
    The snow is very pretty!

  9. Couldn’t agree more – kabocha squash is a total and utter luxury all on its’ own :D
    Blood tangerine…is such a violent name really necessay for such a tasty fruit!!??
    By the way, if you ommitted one of those (many, many!) ingredients, do you think you’d notice!? If I lived near you I’d totally be stealing stuff randomly as a test :P
    Have a good day!

    • leangreendeane said

      I love the color of blood tangerines so much that i forget about the name! :) Besides tangerine blood is 1000 times better than any undercooked animal right? I definitely would not notice, but i rarely have these shakes anymore unless i know i won’t have too much time for lunch… It is too meals in itself!

Comments are closed.

